Inuit Tattoo designs

Inuit Tattoo designs

More tattoos meant a woman was older and had accomplished more, which was also celebrated.“That idea to celebrate Native girls and women is a big shift here that hasn’t always been done,” says Nordlum.

“So I started studying traditional Inuit tattooing five years ago and looked for someone in Anchorage to do it, but there was no one at the time still doing it here in the traditional method.”“The point was to bring our community together, to bring these urban Natives like myself together and bring some pride to our communities after the colonization that happened to us,” Nordlum says. It is a tattoo many contemporary Alaska Native women would be proud to wear, despite the recent historical decline in traditional tattooing. That’s what I want to do: recognize we are a people that thrived here and have thousands of years of ancestry and that’s something to be proud of.”Colonization by the United States and Denmark brought with it tremendous shame in being Inuit. Simple Tribal Tattoo Designs Best Of Pin by Joe Abejon On Tattoo . The United States brought it for a cheap price and they got mines and oil. I still want to thrive here, but in doing so also bring back a little pride and healing of our own culture.”She admits that walking around with such pride can be difficult, especially when people shoot her looks of disgust or go out of their way to avoid looking at her at all. For more than 30 years, our principal areas of interest have been Inuit art, Northwest Coast art, 19th century Alaskan artifacts, and Old Bering Sea artifacts, but we also offer selected items of other Native American art and jewelry.Inuit Art at Northern Images, since 1972 we have been offering the finest quality of genuine Inuit Art, Aboriginal Art and Dene Art from Canada's Arctic. Find out about their fascinating history -- and future. If you are not Inuit please respect the cultural Intellectual property of the Indigenous peoples these tribal tattoo