unum long term disability phone number

Only they know the rules. Unum not interested in paying what are obviously covered health care expenses now over 6 months from death. A lump-sum payment instead of long-term disability (LTD) payments with its concomitant red tape and reviews may be very tempting, but it requires the assistance of an experienced and knowledgeable lawyer to plan, calculate and think through the pros and cons. I have been paying on my policy for 25 years. I've had to deal with this insurance company for some short and long term disability claims. 14 reviews of Unum "I've had to deal with this insurance company for some short and long term disability claims. The rules that are in place for the employees to follow are so complicated that in dealing with one issue, I got 3 different answers/interpretations. My problem is from the 1st phone call from Unum claim rep until my return to work has been nothing but stressful everything is according to their review and their records blah, blah, blah. I supplied them with the required information back in May 2015. So nothing that the doctor submits in writing about the patient matters. the bottom line is they suck.Please be very careful using this company for short term disability insurance. It's now April 2016 and i got a letter the other day stating that based on the information I provided, they recalculated a benefit payment back in May of 2014 and I was overpaid by $2400 and I had 30 days to pay it back. I was told "they have to protect their interests" by doing these audits, which means that they can't do their job correct in the first place. The most recent increase was an unbelievable useras amount of 83%! Long-term disability benefits can be monthly payments of up to 60 percent of a person’s ordinary income. Interaction is via electronic media such as video-conferencing, email and a client portal, or call us at (954)-515-5504, and ensure fast, efficient and effective results. While the people seem ni